Justin and I went out for a romantic dinner the other night, but reservations weren’t made, and the restaurant of choicetiki was booked. (FYI, reservations can always be made here, that is what the internet is all about)  So, we decided to check out the other restaurant in the hotel, Trader Vic’s.  Which is also known as “Trader Vic’s Mai Tai Lounge.”  I thought it sounded interesting, Justin, not so much.  But, he was a good sport and we went there anyway.

So…Trader Vic’s is like a tiki lounge from the 50’s with a heavy Gilligan’s Island theme.  We were the youngest people there by 30 years.  Seriously.  I thought it was awesome!!  My favorite part were the hemp nets holding up balloon/glass lights.  Justin just rolled his eyes a lot little.  Our waiter could have been Cheech or Chong, which just added to Trader Vic’s allure for me.  Justin just pouted a little bit because the other restaurant was full.coffee He didn’t seem to think that Trader Vic’s was as absolutely fantastic as I did.

Naturally, being a Mai Tai Lounge, I insisted Justin order a Mai Tai, which ended up being a mix of every liquor in the place with a splash of pinapple.  It was basically undrinkable.  I had coffee.  Which was pretty good. It came in a French Press.

Overall, Trader Vic’s was awesome, especially because I felt like I had traveled back in time.  I wished that I had worn my 50’s costume….next time Trader Vic’s…next time!

 

PS- Apparently, Trader Vic’s invented the Mai Tai, or so I have been told by like 50 people since posting this.  I would also like to clarify that I did not taste the Mai Tai, only the coffee. And that the coffee was really awesome. So awesome, in fact, that I drank a whole pot of it.  That’s right, and then went to bed like 2 hours later.  But, back to the Mai Tai, the facial expression after ingestion of the Mai Tai was horrible enough for anyone to want to stay away…

