There are a lot of misconceptions about knitting.  You should read this so you don’t ask your friends who knit stupid questions that cause eye rolling.  And, to all of my friends who have asked me stupid questions, look…you are helping other people.

  1. No, knitting does not save tons of money.  It actually doesn’t save any money.  It’s a really expensive hobby.  I couldclover probably buy this sweater for $9.99 at Marshalls and it would most likely be made way better.
  2. No, knitting socks doesn’t save any money, either.  Knitting socks is actually a big waste of time because you can buy a pack of socks at Target or Wal-Mart for like $5 and this yarn cost about $20, not to mention the 100 hours it is going to take me to knit them. I don’t know why I knit them, now that I think about it.  They are kind of ridiculous.
  3. Please don’t touch that!!  It’s a row counter. No, you can’t click it…Did you just hear me?…It’s a row counter, it counts my rows. No, seriously, don’t touch it.
  4. Yes, anyone can learn to knit.  It doesn’t take that much patience.  It does take a little to learn, but so does learning to read.  And you were able to do that, obviously (if you are reading this).  If you wish you could knit, you can.  No, it’s not really hard.  I will be happy to help you. We can bond.
  5. Please don’t ask me to make you something just because we’re friends.  Yeah, I know I knit all the time, but knitting takes a lot of time.  Even if you offer to pay me like $20 to make you something, I will be much more willing to make you something.  Maybe even for free.  That shows that you understand that knitting is an art and that you appreciate it.
  6. If you bring up knitting and seem interested, I will talk your ear off. This is a warning, because people ask me about knitting and then I talk all about yarn and it’s awesomeness and they get bored.  I don’t understand, because yarn is like the best thing ever! (Ever, besides hedgehogs and kitties, of course)  And, you asked me!  ‘sigh’

This is pretty much it for now.  The one to remember the most is number 5.  Please don’t ask me or any of your friends who knit to make you stuff all the time.  It makes us want to strangle you with our expensive yarn laugh casually and walk away.  It’s kind of the equivalent of asking me to paint your house or something for free.  It’s kind of ridiculous.

