Jenny The Bloggess agreed to be interviewed here and I am very excited to share it with you.  The pink is in honor of The Bloggess, whose website is pink.  Well, the background is pink.  I am not a huge fan of pink, but hot pink is pretty cool.  I guess I do like pink, hot pink. Anyway, without further ado…

jenny
So, if you could be a centaur or a unicorn, which one would it be and why?
I’d be a centaur, because unicorns aren’t real.  (Good trick question, by the way.)
You seem like someone who appreciates Alice in Wonderland…is this true?
Because I think it is the best book ever.
It is true.  And weird that you mention that because (this is totally true) I have 5 copies on my bookshelf and just bought another one this weekend.  Plus, I can recite “Jabberwocky” by heart.
(This is interesting because I also have like 3 or 4 copies.  But the weird thing is that none of them are readable…well, they are readable.  But they are all from the early 1900’s [I collect antique Children’s Books] and I would be afraid to read them.  I am a book abuser. What I am trying to say is that I don’t have any recent copies.)

How did you get the idea to start The Bloggess?  Did The Bloggess or Bad
Mom/Good Mom come first?
I was actually writing for another mommy blog first on the Houston Chronicle.  I kept getting in trouble for saying inappropriate stuff there so I started The Bloggess.  The later I switch my other mommy blog for Good Mom/Bad Mom.  Then I picked up my advice column and then my sex column.  I’m way too prolific and I mean that in the most negative sense of the word.
You are such a relatable (I don’t think that’s a word) writer.  I personally appreciate you writing about your panic disorder because I also have it and know it can be debilitating.  It’s very inspiring that you
still speak at conferences and hang out with famous strangers in spite ofthis.  This isn’t really a  question, more just a statement.
It’s a very nice statement and I admire it greatly.  Also, to be honest, it takes a lot of time to prepare for and recover from speaking at conferences and being “on” but it’s always worth it.  Except when it’s not.  This is a very unhelpful paragraph, I’m afraid.

I like that you wear a “comfort wig” when you go out.  When did you start doing this?  What made you decide on a wig and not a special shirt or something?confidencewig
Actually it’s a “confidence wig”.  Wigs are inherently uncomfortable.  Unless it’s really cold out.  Then they’re like a good hat, but itchy.  I started wearing a confidence wig because I hate my hair and I loved that I could hide behind my wig and be someone else entirely.  Plus, if I’m having a bad night I just excuse myself and change wigs and I can start all over again.  It’s really quite dysfunctional in a way.

Did you marry Victor because his name is Victor?  Because, he would seem like a much less dynamic person if his name was George or Hank.
Victor’s real name is not Victor.  You feel betrayed now, right?  But
everyone calls him Victor because his real name is the same as his dad’s and it was very confusing.
What is up with the curlers and the hair dryer? Has that always been yourhairdryer logo?
That’s been my logo for years.  I was drying my hair one day and thought “My God, I’ve spent a lot of time drying my hair.  Like probably years of my life.  And I never get anything out of it.  And the next day I have to dry it all over again.  This sucks.”  So I pulled out my camera and took that picture of me in the mirror so I could use it as my icon so all that time blow-drying my hair would not have been wasted.  It made sense at the time.

Thank you so much for taking the time to answer these questions.  Also, I do feel a little betrayed that Victor’s name isn’t really Victor, but then again, I don’t really feel betrayed because he goes by Victor. I think.  I am a little confused.  Anyway, thank you!

(Note: I stole all of these pictures from TheBloggess.com)

//

