This is a post by Roomie.  She is feeling frustrated with the Baby Boomer generation and having no blog of her own, I said I would be happy to host her frustrations.

I am fed up with the Baby Boomers.  While I love my parents dearly, their generation is really a giant attention hog.  Pretty much their entire lives, the Boomers have captivated the attention of our country and the almighty advertising industry.  In their youth, it was all about Wonder Bread and Leave it to Beaver.  When they hit their tumultuous adolescence, the country was enthralled with rebellion, and free sex and drugs, the epitome of youthful vices.  Now that must have been cool.

Unfortunately, we are now hitting the age of the Baby Boomers where retirement accounts and incontinence are all the rage.  As they age, the advertising industry has tried to spin the traditionally unexciting, unsexy, “golden years” as some sort of hip, new stage of life.  We are bombarded by commercials with funky, salt-n-peppered people looking carefree on the back of a boat or around a camp fire.  Instead of advertising something actually interesting or cool, though, the hip old people are actually worrying about their 401ks and bone loss disease.  Not fascinating or charming.

Now don’t get me wrong, the Baby Boomers have been a great generation for America.  They brought us the civil rights and women’s rights movements.  They have kept our incredible economic engine humming and have put us, their children, through college.  I appreciate all that they have done and concede they are truly a remarkable generation.  However, as they fade into their yonder years, I wish they would give up the spotlight.  I don’t care to make early onset Alzheimer’s seem trendy and I wish the advertising industry wouldn’t either.  Unless the Baby Boomers want to start another revolution, like legalizing marijuana or gay marriage, then I think they need to quietly settle into their retirement communities and give up their lifetime of dominance.

