My first week as a blond has gone pretty well.  I’ve stopped freaking out every time I look in the mirror (short hair plus different color is quite a shock).  Most of my friends have seen it so they’ve stopped walking past me when I’m meeting up with them.  Which was kind of cool.  I was around people I knew, but kind of invisible because they didn’t know who I was.

Shockingly, the employees in my neighborhood gas station had no problem recognizing me.  Every time I go in there it’s, “Windsor, where have you been!  We thought you ran away…blah blah blah…”  Those dudes love me.

I have had several people say, “I’m shocked you can pull off hair that short.”  Thank you?  I’m not sure if this is a compliment or not.  It’s kind of an insult, but still nice?  Like, they didn’t think my face is strong enough to pull off the hair.  Which makes me wonder if they’ve sat around thinking about me with short hair and knowing it would look bad.  Because that comment alludes to premeditation.  (I’ve been watching a lot of Law & Order)  And it’s been more than one person.  One, fine; multiple, weird.

After the initial shock, I’m very pleased.  Except this past weekend with the helmet hair after riding the scooter in 90 degrees for an hour.  My hair just can’t recover from that.

