I started taking a metal smithing class last week.  I want to learn how to make things out of metal and use fire and all of that good stuff.

I knew things were starting off well when I turned out to be the only left-handed student in the class and the instructor told me she’s been waiting for my for years.  “Years!” she said.

We sawed.  And I was not pleased.  I assumed we were going to start off with fire and sautering and people getting burned.  Nope.  Just sawing.  The instructor sat beside me.  At first I thought it was because she loved me because I’m left handed and awesome.  I’m pretty sure now that she thinks I’m mentally handicapped.  I broke my blade 10 times.  Seriously.  But, I am now awesome at reblading the saw.  Yay me.  She spoke to me pretty slow the whole time and went through everything step by step, like she would show a 3 year old.  It was cool, though.  I almost got my own private lesson.

I had to fight my urge to talk to everyone in the class like she is my BFF and not be loud.  Or obnoxious.  This behavior most likely led to the instructor assuming I have some kind of mental defect.

