I just got home from the movies.  Paranormal Activity 2 came out at 12:01

a.m.  I had to see it opening night.  Guess what?  I wasn’t disappointed.

I’ve had my doubts about this movie.  Mostly due to the fact that the first one was amazing and incredibly horrifying.  Initially, I had assumed this movie was either a new family in the same house or a completely different family and house experiencing the same kind of phenomena experienced in the last movie.  I was wrong on both accounts.

The story starts us off with the family bringing their new baby, Hunter, home for the first time.  First time mother is stressed and isn’t sleeping.  The baby is being woken up every night by weird noises.  Soon, strange things begin to happen, and we’re off on the twisted, horrific adventure we enjoyed in the first Paranormal Activity, but this time it’s even more disturbing.

The scenes that made me (literally) jump out of my seat in Paranormal Activity were increased in the sequel.  Tod Williams took it to the next level and made a sequel that will be able to stand on its own.  Not only was the movie still frightening, he used new techniques to scare his audience.  I appreciate that he didn’t just rely on what worked the first time, he gave us more!

The story does intertwine with the lives of Katie and Micah from the original, but does so in a believable and realistic way.  We learn more about these characters.  Williams uses this movie to artfully answer questions I didn’t even know I had.

If you are a horror junkie like me, this movie is a must see.  There is no gore.  But, prepare yourself for the unexpected.  It’s the best sequel I may have ever seen.  And there’s nothing creepier than a little kid.

Don’t forget to enter my giveaway if you haven’t already.

