Last night, I had the pleasure of seeing Black Swan.  I must say, the movie was really good.  It’s not as much a horror movie as a psychological thriller that makes you feel a little sick and kept me wondering the whole 2 hours.

Natalie Portman‘s character, Nina, is given the role of the black and white swan in the classic ballet.  Nina becomes obsessed with another ballerina, Lily (Mila Kunis).  I spent the entire movie going back and forth as to whether Lily was really messing with Nina or if it was all in Nina’s head.

The director, Darren Aranofsky, brilliantly keeps the audience guessing as to Nina’s mental stability and as to the motives of the rest of the ballet company.  Under the wrong direction, this film could’ve easily turned into just another ballet movie (a la: Centerstage and Save the Last Dance).  Also, the cinematography was brilliant, juxtaposing white as innocence and black as instability throughout the film.

Upon leaving the theater, my friend and I felt we could discuss the movie for the next week and still not have all the

answers we wanted…but in a good way.  Black Swan was brilliant, disturbing and beautiful.  It was just confusing enough to make me think I will be able to figure it out, but not in a complete mind fuck that David Lynch is so famous for.  I highly recommend it.

(Images courtesy of IMDB)

