Chico and I have been riding in the car a lot together lately.  We’ve been visiting people and going to the dog park and having play dates.  We even drove an hour south of the city to Macon (where I found out my precious has a pneumonia) and went to the Cherry Blossom Festival, which was quite a riot (more about that later).

(can I just say, best picture ever?  Seriously)

We have these lovely things in the metro Atlanta area called High Occupancy Vehicle (HOV) lanes, you know, because we have some of the worst traffic in the country.  And, if you have more than one person in the vehicle, you’re allowed in the lane.  These lanes are generally awesome because they are faster and less trafficky.  I’m fine with these rules.  You’re carpooling and therefore, most likely, keeping one more car’s toxic gases out of the air.  Yay for you!

But, mothers are also allowed to use the lanes.  With children in the car.  Children who are under the legal driving age.  So, they’re not keeping another car off the road.  They’re just clogging up the fast lane.  And, I think, if these mothers are allowed to drive in this lane, going slower than the general flow of traffic because there is a baby in the car then I should be allowed to drive in it with Chico in the car.  He keeps just as many emissions off the roads as a child under 16.

The benefits of this are that I will go faster than the general flow of traffic, flash my lights at the slow mothers and, the best thing of all is I will get where I need to go more quickly.  Everyone wins! (Duh)

